Poem: Tangled- Alone In The Tower

Completed February 2021

A dream forsaken

As time once again steals it all

Evil poisoning the life I wanted

Crying with nowhere to fall

His hand in mine

Slowly growing cold

The world losing its color

The stars starting to fold

If only I had listened

If only I’d obeyed

He wouldn’t be here dying

I wouldn’t be dismayed

For all of the world he brought to my tower

He took it when he died

And all the evil she took when she fell

I am left alone inside

The windows are open, but the air is still

The time we had is gone

As he fades from being real

And I’m supposed to move on

Blood soaked shirt and broken heart

The two of us together

Chasing our dreams within each other

Lost into the abyss of forever

I can blame Mother Gothel

I could blame her health

But none of this would have happened

If I hadn’t been thinking of myself

It’s my greed that caused this

It’s my selfish wish

My impotence got him killed

I turned into that witch

So I’ll sit here on my floor alone

Letting tears stain my cheeks

In this empty hole, I once called home

Until the silence ceases to speak

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started